avidasebo.blogg.se

50mm summicron m vs elmar
50mm summicron m vs elmar








50mm summicron m vs elmar
  1. #50mm summicron m vs elmar full
  2. #50mm summicron m vs elmar plus
  3. #50mm summicron m vs elmar series
  4. #50mm summicron m vs elmar free

And I have a problem with that: why not vented? This lens protrudes enough in the viewfinder as it is, why add a solid hood to that? Anyway, the lens is made of aluminium alloy and feels solid and well built. In this sample the hood was missing, so I used a vented one I already had that has a similar size to the original one, which is not vented. Quite chunky, actually! It comes only in black and has a hood included in the box. This was my first lens for the Leica M system.

#50mm summicron m vs elmar series

This is part 1 of a series of long articles: sit back and enjoy your drink of choice. We’ll have the Nokton 1.5, for example, Summilux 1.4, TTArtisan 1.4, Planar F2, Nokton 1.5 II for the newest kid on the block, and so on.

#50mm summicron m vs elmar plus

For this reason, and for simplicity, throughout the article I will refer to the lenses just by their rather funny designation (like Summicron, Summilux, Nokton), design name (Sonnar, Planar) or plain brand (7Artisans, TTArtisan) plus the aperture. Leica and Zeiss have very clear ideas about what to call their lenses, and so do the two Chinese companies, that use simple and clear denominations. The first thing I notice is that Voigtlander hasn’t figured out a naming standard for its lenses. Voigtlander Nokton Vintage Line 50mm F1.5 Aspherical II VM Voigtlander Nokton 50mm F/1.5 Aspherical VM Voigtlander Nokton VM 50mm 1:1.2 Aspherical

#50mm summicron m vs elmar full

In order of speed these are the lenses reviewed here: this is the only instance in which I will write down the full name of these lenses, as best as I can find (Voigtlander name their lenses with different full denominations in either lens front ring, box and website for each lens, and each lens is designated slightly differently on top of that…crazy!). Minimum Focusing Distance (MFD) and magnification Let’s add that to the comparison, together with the Zeiss Planar I already have! Things spiralled out of control, and now I find myself with 10 current production fast 50mm prime lenses for Leica M mount, from F2 to F1.1. But what about comparing it to the predecessor, of which I have owned now 5 or 6 copies? Yep, you read that right: great lens, horrible ergonomics - tried to bond with it many times, failed each time!īut at that point I thought: why not compare all current Noktons? Scouring the auction site and used gear shops led me to an excellent price on a Leica Summicron version 5. I decided to get it as soon as possible and review it. Recently Voigtlander announced the Nokton 50mm 1.5 II, and that was exactly what I was looking for: small, high quality fast 50mm prime lens with good ergonomics.

50mm summicron m vs elmar

A good photographer friend of mine has all but given up in trying to keep up with my changes: every time we go shoot together my lenses have changed!! Hello Fred! And what about that Zeiss Sonnar 50mm 1.5? Fast and small, but with a lot of focus shift apparently…I really fancied the Leica Summilux 50mm 1.4 ASPH, but that was way out of my league.įrom there it’s been a buy and sell whirlwind, not being able to find my ideal lens. But there was the Zeiss Planar F2 beckoning to me, asking me to try it out. Of course I had to find a lighter, smaller alternative to that behemoth to have the option of a smaller kit. That certainly didn’t help my photography, and I soon found out how big and cumbersome that lens was. I got myself a Voigtlander Nokton 50mm 1.1, the fastest thing I could afford. But unfortunately I had two main issues: I could not afford a Leica 50mm and I had a bad case of the bokeh disease. The first lens I sought was, of course, the 50mm. My photography improved, my pleasure in the photographic process went up a notch. I don’t regret it at all, I just wish I had done it sooner.

#50mm summicron m vs elmar free

I sold a full kit of excellent, autofocus, versatile gear and plunged in the weird and wonderful world of limitations of the manual, feature and gimmick free Leica M. I didn’t buy the full frame Leica M for the sensor format, but for the rangefinder experience. When I bought my Leica M I came from APS-C.

50mm summicron m vs elmar

But in which form? Ultrafast bokeh monster? Small great quality all-rounder? Anything in between? This website is named after the angle of view of my favourite focal length: 50mm. My journey with Leica has been a rollercoaster.










50mm summicron m vs elmar